1975: Australia’s first professor of space engineering, Emeritus Professor Ray Stalker, joins UQ from Australian National University

1988: The T4 Free-piston Driven Shock Tunnel is commissioned at UQ

1995: The first scramjet to provide positive thrust is reported after a test is conducted in the T4 shock tunnel. The X2 Super-Orbital Expansion Tube is commissioned at UQ

1997: The HyShot Flight Program begins. The program is an experiment designed to determine the accuracy of pressure measurements made of supersonic combustion in the T4 shock tunnel compared to those observed in flight

2001: The X3 Free-piston Driven Expansion Tube is commissioned at UQ

2002: HyShot 2 is launched and is the first scramjet flight test that produces supersonic combustion

2006: HyShot 3 and 4 are launched. Defence Science and Technology Organisation’s applied hypersonics group forms with researchers from the UQ HyShot flight team. The first test of a three-dimensional scramjet is conducted at UQ

2007: The joint Australian/US HIFiRE Program commences. The program investigates the science of hypersonics technology and its potential for next-generation aeronautical systems

2009: HIFiRE 0, the first flight of HIFiRE Program is launched

2012: Professor Michael Smart receives an ICAS award for International Co-operation in Aerospace as part of the HIFiRE team

2013: A Mach 12 scramjet is tested in T4 shock tunnel

2014: The SPARTAN small satellite launcher is conceived

2015: HIFiRE 7 is flown with two UQ-designed three-dimensional scramjets from the Andoya Space Center in Norway at speeds of Mach 8

2016: HiFiRE 5B, hits targeted speeds of Mach 7.5 (9200kmph) and reaches a height of 278 kilometres from earth, after it is launched from the Woomera Test Range in South Australia

2017: Centre for Hypersonics Director Professor Richard Morgan receives the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Hypersonic Systems and Technologies Award